Skip to content
September 23, 2008 / alunatunes

September 21-Quiet Time


“Don’t forget that I belong to solitude, that I must not need anyone,that all of my strength is born from this detachment.” Rilke

Do you remember quiet time in school?  In kindergarten the whole day stopped after lunch during naptime. There is nothing so calming as the sight of little people on colorful mats with blankets clutched at their chins; glasses removed, shoes off, closed eyes,blissfully sleeping. As we grew older, it was heads on desks, eyes closed if only so our teacher could catch her breath for ten blessed minutes. As adults, we may be power nappers, seeking 20 minutes when and where we can to detach from the strain of the day. Or we may be meditators, able to acheive a blank state of zen within a few minutes. There are very few of us who do not purposely experience a body sigh when we are able to be in a state of quiet and calm. Even Superman had his fortress of solitude.

To truly detach from the torrent of the world, one must seek aloneness. Musicians alone tap into a palate of emotions that only solitude can facilitate.  Solitude, as purposeful seclusion or isolation, is healing and healthy. Once I was completely alone for an entire three weeks and it proved to be the most enlightening span of time I’ve ever experienced.  I called it my self imposed exile. I read, thought, meditated, but most of all I absorbed the silence and her messages. I was on a path of self destruction and I knew it. I only needed the silence to reiterate what I already felt in my heart.

Even the Bible encourages us to “Be still and know that I am God..” In stillness, hearing becomes hightened and awareness seeps into the fiber of our humanness. For musicians, seclusion is a catalyst, bringing the inner muse behind the curtain to the stage.

Turn off the tv, take the IPOD buds from your ears, sit still and alone in a garden or in the dark. Light a candle and notice how it generates profound energy in still quiet solitude.  Use silence in a positive and sacred way to talk to the universe and listen to what she has to say.

Leave a Reply

