Skip to content
December 15, 2008 / alunatunes

December 15- The Gift of Friendship


Each friend represents a world in us, a world possibly not born until they arrive, and it is only by this meeting that a new world is born. -Anais Nin

I’ve been in the music business a very long time. For twenty five years I was a singer, songwriter and musician. I haven’t been on stage in fifteen years, but I’ve been been the “girl behind the curtain” , booking and promoting shows and bands, working to help the world know about my artists.  This year, I launched a new career as a writer,  thinking that the, “Hey Dude, book this band!” daily routine had an expiration date for me. And it was fast approaching.  As I started my new career, my friends in this business applauded my efforts, they bought my books, they spread the word. And I am deeply grateful to them.

Over the years, I’ve had the honor of knowing the finest people in this business. Their gift of friendship, of camaraderie, of enduring and endearing dedication, have inspired and uplifted me more times that I can say. Music business is often an unnerving, financially shaky and unsteady way to make a living. Success depends on fickle public support of a group, whether the group can sell tickets and pack rooms…not necessarily whether they are the most talented bunch on the planet.  Making a living here in music is like trying to get to stand up straight in an earthquake or trying to keep your footing while being pounded by waves.

The gift of friendship, particularly in this world, is precious.  There are so many people I appreciate and admire for their tireless efforts on behalf of their artists. Kerry Gibson at Lower 40 Records in Atlanta works doggedly for the musicians on her label. Tina Terry at Piedmont Talent has taught me perseverance and the beauty of steady purpose. Rick Booth at Intrepid Artists has had me in stitches of laughter more times than I can count. Mark Lyvers at WUSC in Columbia, Wildman Steve in Auburn  AL and Cindy Schnieder at KRFC in Fort Collins CO, always book my bands for in studio performances, exposing their music to huge audiences. James Mullins and Jim Bruce at KDHX in St Louis and Joshua at Loyal Family remain steady and supportive of music in the midwest.  Jeff Mosier is a mentor and most admired friend. Michelle Roach works to promote her bands nationwide. Bob Fortin with Music Matters is one of the most dedicated agents I’ve ever known.  The list literally goes on and on and there is not enough room to mention everyone I work with.  If you’re reading this- know that you are appreciated in this music world. Know that you make a difference.

And then there are the artists I am honored to work with. Despite money issues, travel woes and internal conflicts, my bands and artists rise above the fray to create, produce and perform music that is beyond incredible. They represent my heart and soul as they travel and bring their gifts of music to the world.  They are admired friends, compatriots, true to the craft of music, true to their innate music souls.

The gift of friendship within this industry is priceless.  Look beyond the band organization and recognize those people who spend so much time and effort to book, promote, and support what you do.  Your manager, business manager, tour manager, publicist, and your band mates – matter.  Tell someone today, right now, that you appreciate their interest, support and friendship.

Leave a Reply

