Skip to content
December 16, 2008 / alunatunes

December 16- The Gift of Acknowledgement


We do not believe in ourselves until someone reveals that deep inside us is valuable, worth listening to, worthy of our trust, sacred to our touch. Once we believe in ourselves we can risk curiosity, wonder, spontaneous delight or any experience that reveals the human spirit. – e.e. cummings

When I released my first book(let), Fifty Ways to Tour Without Getting in the Van, earlier this year, I sent a copy to to writer and speaker Cheryl Richardson. I’m a fan of Hay House Radio and I had been listening to Cheryl’s weekly broadcast, Coach on Call, and reading her books for some time. On a whim, I sent her my booklet, thinking even if it were lying about on her desk in her office, that it would soak up good vibes and good luck. The last thing I expected was a portion of Cheryl’s weekly broadcast devoted to little ole me and Fifty Ways.

In April, Cheryl wrote and told me she had talked about the book on one of her shows. Of course, it was one I missed! Subsequently I went back to her online archives and found the show and sat entranced as I listened to this savvy, world wise woman of wisdom, commenting about my first effort at writing. She said I was “obviously smart.” Oh joy! What incredibly uplifting words to hear! Cheryl’s producer and nephew are musicians, so I sent copies of Fifty Ways to Tour to them as well.

My spirit was renewed. I felt uplifted simply because my work, my effort, sweat, enery and time were acknowledged by someone I admired.

Sometimes, all we need is an encouraging word. Give the gift of acknowledgement to someone you know, or DON’T know today. If there is a songwriter you particularly admire, write an email and tell them how much you enjoy their work. As a musician, you’re also a fan. Write a fan letter today. The gift of acknowledgement is precious indeed.  

 

Cheryl Richardson, the bestselling author of Take Time for Your Life, known to millions for her “Lifestyle Makeover” series on “The Oprah Winfrey Show”. Find out more about Cheryl at www.cherylrichardson.com

Leave a Reply

