Skip to content
April 29, 2009 / alunatunes

Musicians and Money- Patience


“Trying to accumulate wealth by the sweat of your brow and hard labor is one way to become the richest man in the graveyard. You do not have to strive or slave hard.” Joseph Murphy

I read recently that one’s ship comes in over calm seas. It was a day I was juggling music booking, publicity, calendars and switching my business from a basic booking entity to music publicity and PR work.  I was exhausted and more than anything I was stressed. I felt panic rising in my body, my pulse quickened, and not in a good way.

I keep a book of quotes handy for when this scenario rears it’s ugly head.  When one is navigating a new path, waters often get choppy. Most people in this business live by the skin of their teeth. Most musicians don’t start out as full time paid players. It takes years and dedication and infinite miles of patience before the rubber hits the road and a musician is making money playing.

I keep a list of inspirational quotes close at hand. I’m in the  music business. Hours of hard work and effort can and often do come to naught. So it’s wise to always stay elevated and intune with the bigger picture. And to remember:

“Yet equally surely not one moment before it’s appointed time will it come

All for fever and crying and reaching out of hands will make no difference

Therefore, Do not begin that game at all. ” – Edward Carpenter

All comes in its own time. Have a little patience.

Leave a Reply

