Skip to content
January 4, 2010 / alunatunes

January 5, 2010- Dress Rehearsals


 

“When you perform, you are out of yourself-larger and more potent, more beautiful. You are for minutes heroic. This is power. This is glory on earth. And it is yours, nightly.” Agnes De Mille

The choreographer and dancer Agnes De Mille wanted to be an actress. After all she was from a family of theatre professional. Her grandfather was famed director Cecil B. Demille. She was told by her family that she was “not pretty enough” to act and threw herself into dance as solace and comfort. The rest, as they say, is history.

In the world of music, as well as acting, dress rehearsals play a large role in performance before an audience. Bands rehearse, record, write and go through all the motions “backstage” before bringing their vibe to an audience. We can never forget our power as performers. We must take our duties with some gravity, being vessels of divinity expressed in musical form.

Show up fully to rehearse shows and new music. Rehearsal is a place of social interaction, but also a serious forum to allow creativity, energy and mysticism to meld with the practical aspects of being a person imbued with a sweet gift.  As winter enfolds us, we may be spending more time in rehearsal and recording spaces. Be sure those areas are clean and free of clutter. Consider proper lighting, and set your rehearsal stage with candles and incense. Be prepared to be inspired.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Melanie Mulhall / Jan 7 2010 11:06 pm

    Tammy,

    Showing up fully to rehearse is good advice for anyone. As a writer, my blog is one of the ways I show up to play with ideas that may eventually find their way into a book, into my coaching for writers, or into my shamaic work.

    Thanks for this great advice.

    Melanie

    • alunatunes / Jan 9 2010 12:09 am

      The difference in my day is made as I walk into my office. I try every day to show up fully and do my best. I’m always reminded of The Four Agreements and that “doing my best” may be different day to day depending on my energy and physical well being. I mentioned to someone recently, I was a “daily worker” – simply meaning, I “come” to work in some way shape or form every day. Because my work is dependent upon timing and availability, I work on Moonstruck or my writing, or reading, or communicating DAILY even when on vacation. I find my life progresses much better when I show up daily for communicating!

Leave a Reply

