Skip to content
January 20, 2010 / alunatunes

Meet Chris Brackett, drum instructor at The Playroom!


 
I believe it is important to teach an individual not a subject. In my experience I have seen great success in instructing to fit individual needs and wants. I feel it is important to use positive reinforcement rather than harp on what needs improvement. I believe it is a great benefit to get to know my students on a personal level, allowing them to easily understand and enabling me to use analogies that directly apply to their personal interest. I have seen my students grow not only as better players, but as wonderful individuals. I teach what I believe to be important (i.e. reading music, writing music and having a great meter) with a direct balance of what they wish to learn. I love to see smiles of success on faces that once looked bleak, the expression of “I did it” that in itself is a wonderful reward, as well as knowing I made a positive impression on someone’s life through music.
Leave a Reply

