Skip to content
June 5, 2010 / alunatunes

The Artist that lives within


“Why is society working to kill our natural born artists? When we try to drill and practice someone into subservient obedience, we’re stamping out the artist that lives within.” -Seth Godin/Linchpin

If you’ve spent any time at all reading Alunatunes, you understand why I’m here, why I feel strongly about encouraging the artist within. You understand why my blog is tagged with “inspiration, motivation and practical advice for musicians”. At the core of my being, I am sure this is where I’m supposed to be, doing work I feel is necessary and yes, to snag a word from Seth Godin, remarkable.

When I was in second grade, I had a remarkable teacher, Phyllis Madrid. You can read all about her here https://alunatunes.wordpress.com/?s=madrid

In Seth Godin’s latest book Linchpin, he talks about our educational system and the artist within. Read this book. No matter where you are in your walk of life, Godin’s concepts can help you navigate the next change, the next horizon, the mental shift that makes a profound difference.

We are all artists until the world beats the art out of us by demanding conformity. Follow the rules, be good, don’t make waves, get a job that demands average.

Or “be remarkable, be generous, create art, make judgement calls, connect people and ideas”. This is Godin’s description of the New American Dream.

I’m game. Are you?

Leave a Reply

