Skip to content
June 10, 2010 / alunatunes

“Real Artists Ship”- Steve Jobs (from Seth Godin’s Linchpin)


 

 

http://moonstruckpromotions.com

http://sethgodin.com

I’ve been stymied in creating my own art. It’s easy for me to promote the art of others. After all, they’ve done all the work. They have posters and cds and a website. All I have to do is attract attention to it.

Creating art of my own is another matter entirely. Somehow, I feel I am not worthy. That nothing I do will ever reach perfection so why try.

My attitude changed upon reading Linchpin, Seth Godin’s new book, in which he breaks Art down into the beauty of simple interactions. I thought I’d read a marketing book, instead I stumbled upon an inspirational text. Imagine that. Art that does not disappoint.

“Real Artists Ship” is the Steve Jobs quote that kicks off the chapter on The Resistance. It refers to creating and then SHIPPING- letting go, bringing it to the public, playing that song in the coffeeshop, recording that new beat, and in my case, just clicking the publish button on this blog at the end of today’s writing.

Today’s writing will not be honed to sparkling perfection. Some ideas may not quite be fleshed out. It may seem disjointed in parts, but it is my Art and I Shall Ship.

“When you first adopt the discipline of shipping, your work will appear to suffer.” writes Godin. “…but over time-rather quickly,actually-you’ll see that shipping becomes part of the Art and shipping makes it work.”

Ship and save yourself from The Resistance. The Resistance is out to ambush you, knock you on the head and drag you back to the safe zone of reason. Muzzle The Resistance and today do your Art and ship it. Whether it’s a poem, a song, smiling at that cute girl behind the checkout counter, it’s Art.

Just SHIP.

Leave a Reply

