Skip to content
June 12, 2010 / alunatunes

Shipping and Sharing- Day 12


“Van Gogh wasn’t wired to paint. Paint was the medium available to him at the time. If he had lived today, perhaps he would have marketed organic tofu. It’s not predetermined that you’ll hold a paintbrush or write a symphony.”- Seth Godin/ Linchpin

This morning, The Resistance was winning. I could not think of one creative word to write for Shipping. Despite my idea list, nothing was flowing easily.

Experts tell us it takes 21 days to detox, rehab, redo, undo or rewire. So it stands to reason that on day 12 of my 21 day Shipping schedule that I would get stuck. It’s midpoint. I’m sure The Resistance is just waiting for me to falter. So I did what any red blooded Southern woman would do to get pointed in the right direction, to get over the hump, to detach and get out of my own way.

 I made a peach cobbler.

Cooking is Art. From a bunch of ingrediants one creates a little work of Art. Edible Art. I shipped. My creation, my cobbler, is on the kitchen counter, cooling. It looks spectacular and smells divine and will taste heavenly.

Instead of just shipping today, I’m following Seth’s advice and giving something away.  Here’s the cobbler recipe. Shipping and Sharing. I like it.

Easy Cobbler

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In an 11×7 glass dish, melt a fourth to a half stick of margarine.

1 cup self rising flour (if you don’t have self-rising, use 1 cup reg flour with one and one fourth tsp baking powder and 1/4 tsp salt added in)

1 cup sugar (I use one HALF cup of sugar. With the syrup from the fruit, one half cup is sweet enough)

1 cup of milk (I use 3/4 cup of milk and 1/4 cup water)

1 or 2 cans of fruit (I like more cake than fruit – some would rather have more fruit) undrained. I’ve used a couple of cups of fresh berries here or canned fruit like peaches, pears or strawberries. I’ve also used fresh sliced apples.

Melt butter. Mix flour, sugar and milk together. Pour into pan with melted butter. Spread fruit and syrup over mixture.

Bake at 350 for 30-40 minutes. The crust will start to brown and the syrup will bubble. Remove from oven and allow to sit 20 -30 minutes.

You can see the liberties I’ve taken with this old recipe. Do your own Art. Make the cobbler YOUR way.

“…you have to choose your art. It’s not preordained; there isn’t only one Art for you…” – Seth Godin

Here’s to a different kind of Art. May yours be yummy.

Leave a Reply

