Skip to content
June 25, 2010 / alunatunes

Forced March


“Life is a series of experiences, each one of which makes us bigger, even though sometimes it is hard to realize this. For the world was built to develop character, and we must learn that the setbacks and grieves which we endure help us in our marching onward.” – Henry Ford

“The trick is to keep going.” I tell clients who are lost in Music Career World. “It’s better not to give the appearance of being lost, stopping or confusion. Your public image should be one of calm resolve and moving forward.” 

I’ve taken my own advice the past five weeks. Not just pushing through work limits, but domestic duties as well. We’re hosting a party for a lot of people. A new experience and one we look forward to.

In June of last year, my son and his girlfriend were in DC for a day. He called the morning of their trip and asked if I could drive up and see them. I said yes and in a few hours we were traipsing through DC seeing the sights, sweltering, laughing and enjoying each others company. At one point my son’s girlfriend turned to me and said, “So, are you enjoying your forced march?” It’s easy to see why my son adores her. She is gorgeous, witty, charming, intelligent and hilarious.

Domestically, I’ve felt as if I’ve been on a forced march. One foot in front of the other as we’ve planned and implemented house work, yard work and a plethora of food prep for this special occasion. We’re nearly there but relief is not yet palpable.

Each of us is on a Forced March. It’s either one we try to enjoy or one we rail against and this week I’ve been guilty of BOTH mindsets. I’m physically and mentally exhausted but emotionally exhilarated at having friends come to our home, eat, drink and enjoy.

Realize Forced Marches will happen. Whether you enjoy or fall along the path is up to you.

Leave a Reply

