Skip to content
July 3, 2010 / alunatunes

Limited Options


Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.
 Leonardo da Vinci quotes

It’s Saturday July 3. Typically a day to get out, enjoy friends and family, fireworks, maybe have a picnic. There’s a plethora of ways to spend time and money on a holiday weekend.

Boyfriend is working today. That’s not unusual. His job as a sound technician often requires him to be perched in a tech booth on holidays and weekends, headphones on his ears and fingers tripping lightly over a soundboard.

That leaves me and Mr Kronk the Dog to figure out a day for ourselves. I’d really like to hit some thrift marts, but poverty of the pocket (but not the soul!) figures into our daily round.

My options are limited, so my decisions are easy. Today will be about cleaning the house and doing the laundry (neglected for a whole week) and hanging it in the sun to dry. Today will be the day I attempt making tomato sauce from the weepy tomatoes from my garden with blossom end rot (ruins the bottom of the tomato but not the top) and harvest more butterbeans and plan my fall garden (can’t believe I just said that).

I also have work reports to send out and planning to do for July.

My financial options are dictating a day to hang around the house and enjoy the weather and get things done. 

Slim options create easy decisions.  I learned early on as a parent  to not present endless food options to a child because it will simply confuse him. Slim options are why there are only two choices for school lunch lines and uniforms are required for the military. Few options. Sometimes NO options.

Fewer options mean brainpower can be used in other departments. If you wake up in the morning and know exactly what you will put on your back, it’s easier to get on with the day and focus on something more meaningful. Fewer options actually create a less confused landscape.

I always feel a bit of self-satisfied sophistication as I dress in my uniform of a jean skirt or camo pants and a tee-shirt and pick my food for the day from my garden and prepare it in my own kitchen. I remember learning in history class about the few things necessary for life: food, shelter, clothing. Not malls, or money or endless activities, video games, movies, or shopping.

I’m blessed with food, shelter and clothing. The necessities are certainly a short and limited list.

Simple living is indeed the ultimate sophistication.  

Leave a Reply

