Skip to content
July 15, 2010 / alunatunes

Pleasure and Pay


Why not seize the pleasure at once, how often is happiness destroyed by preparation, foolish preparations.” – Jane Austen

Preparation has been the name of my game for the past few weeks as I’ve readied myself to be away from my office and home digs for a stay with my sister. I’ve caught up on work, even managed to wrangle in some new possibilities for income and prepared my bags, travel itinerary and watering instructions for the garden and plants with Boyfriend.

I’m traveling light with only a knapsack and a laptop bag.  As I practice the musician’s pack (roll and stuff, roll and stuff) I promise myself that ONE DAY, ONE DAY, I will simply be at the disposal of the world and when one of my friends says, “Hey why don’t you come down (or up, or over) , I will be able to drop everything and GO.

What a sublime pleasure it would be to go and do and experience happiness at the drop of a hat.

I must always temper my pleasure with pay. If I’m not working, I’m not creating income, and for a freelance gal and a technically unemployed gal since January, pleasure often has to take a backseat to the creation of  Benji’s (my friend Michele’s teens called 100 dollar bills featuring Benjamin Franklin, Benji’s). And the Benji’s must rule at this crucial point in my financial life.

But isn’t pleasure some sort of currency? Doesn’t pleasure provide real value? When I’m away from the day to day and relaxing by the pool or mindlessly prowling a thrift mart, my mind seems to take a break. But, always, when I settle down to work again, I seem to be full of creative ideas and re-enthused about my job. 

Pleasure is a type of Benji. The wealth of a sunny day spent poolside with my nieces and sister is worth a million Benji’s. The richness of cooking a meal and having a conversation with my mom is priceless. Watching a movie and laughing my head off with my gaggle of girls is worth more than a pile of gold.

Counting all  the Benji’s in the world could never come close to the blessings I count every time I’m in the presence of my sister, my mom and my nieces.  We are sisterhood, family, divinity, laughter, and tears. We understand and see the highest and best in each other. And that richness has nothing to do with Benji’s.

Leave a Reply

