Skip to content
August 4, 2010 / alunatunes

Teachable


When you get older and you are ready, your ancestors will show up to guide you.”
–Joe Coyhis, STOCKBRIDGE-MUNSEE”When the student is ready, the teacher appears.” The adage is found in every culture and every language. As we ponder the passing of the years, we may think we know so much. As I get older, I only realize I know very little. Actively, I’ve sought teachers and mystically, they have come my way when I least expected it. Quietly, I’ve learned to sit and listen when these Teachers arrive.Our lives are rife with unmanifest energy. Sometimes this appears as a deep and profound restlessness. We’re not happy at work. Not happy at home. Not happy away from home. There seems to be an unpleasant stirring in our souls that we can’t identify, much less fix.

As soon as a Teacher appears, our Pure Potential becomes evident to us. The proper Teacher can help us see our reasons for being in the world and can help us hone in on our true purpose. A Teacher is a most valuable compass.

A Teacher is not always found in a school. A Teacher can be a neighbor, a clerk at the market, a homeless man lying on a bench, a priest, a nun, a Child.

Allow your Teachers to come to you today. Adopt an attitue of teachability.  Recognize there are lessons to be learned at all times, in all places and in every facet of life.

 

Share

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Melanie Mulhall / Aug 4 2010 8:41 pm

    Tammy,

    Yes!Joe Coyhis is right, at least in my experience. In fact, as anyone who has participated in sweat lodge knows,when one seeks out help in that way, the grandmothers and grandfathers (as my my dear friend and mentor, Marilyn Youngbird, would say) all show up! Of course, Mr. Coyhis may be speaking of the journey from this world to the next, too, and we can only hope he is right.

    And you, Tammy, have said it well. Teachers are everywhere and they help us birth our own spirits.

    Thank you for this lovely reminder.

    Melanie Mulhall

    • alunatunes / Aug 10 2010 10:50 am

      One of the biggest influences in my life was my second grade teacher. It still astounds me to realize how profound her guidance was and still is in my life. And my CHILDREN have taught me immense lessons in love and understanding.
      Thanks for dropping by Melanie. I’m always so honored when you like my writing.

Leave a Reply

