Skip to content
August 23, 2010 / alunatunes

Order from Chaos


“Chaos in the world brings uneasiness, but it also allows the opportunity for creativity and growth.” -Tom Barrett

The wonderful writer Cheryl Richardson recently posted some thoughts about finding work on her site. I love Cheryl because she’s so down to earth and so refreshing and witty and charming. I once sent her a copy of my booklet Fifty Ways to Tour (Without Getting in the Van) on a whim after listening to her  show on Hay House Radio. This award-winning author actually READ my booklet and commented about it on the air. She said, “Tammy is obviously a smart woman.” I cannot tell you how my heart soared. My art was appreciated by someone I respected.

Cheryl talks about finding work in this decidedly unfriendly job market at http://cherylrichardson.com. If you’re unemployed or under-employed or unhappily employed, it would be wise to check out Cheryl’s suggestions to discover innate attributes that you could turn into work. Think more services than things. People are holding onto money tightly these days and many are adhering to The Compact, a program of not buying anything new (there are a few exceptions).  But contributing services to busy people may be just the way to boost your self-confidence and get money rolling in now.

As a person in the music business, I’ve always had to cobble income from chaotic circumstances. Sometimes my little business paid the bills but most times, I’ve needed to supplement my income. I’ve sold plants from my yard. I created shopping bags from tee shirts last summer. I sell books online. I’m an active member of ebay. I have yard sales. I sell my writing services to those outside the music business.

I’ve written often about my author friend Melanie Mulhall. She wrote a most excellent book , Living the Dream, a guidebook for job seekers and career explorers. Melanie’s spiritual take on searching for work is uplifting and opens all kinds of doors into truly thinking about the world of work and your place in it.

You can find our more about Melanie here  http://thedragonheart.com

Instability of today’s work market and the general volitility of the world makes us question ourselves and our choices. But chaos sometimes serves to remind us that there is more out there than the accepted normal ways of working and living.

Your talent and ability to create work lies in your unique approach as a human.  Connect to your passion and figure out what you’re good at and make it work for you. You can do it.

 

Share

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Melanie Mulhall / Aug 23 2010 1:14 pm

    Tammy,

    Thank you for your kind words about my book, Living the Dream, and my approach (a shamanic and holistic one) to job search and career exploration. You’re a good model. Your willingness to get creative about making a living is what often separates those who make a success of their lives from those who are resentful because they just don’t have what they feel “entitled” to. It’s an honorable thing to pay the bills in honorable ways. And, yes, that includes a willingness to do things you don’t necessarily want to make a lifetime’s work. (Although, I have to admit, the idea of shopping bags from t-shirts is intriguing.)

    Continue to walk in Beauty,
    Melanie

    • alunatunes / Aug 23 2010 6:39 pm

      Hi Melanie! Thanks for the vote of confidence. It’s been a mean sort of year, full of trifling, worrisome events. I almost believe it’s those events that make us who we are. I’ve always been an inventive worker (chuckle) and that means doing a little bit of everything. My bags were on etsy.com last year, but after a summer of very few sales, I gave up the bag lady job.

Leave a Reply

