Skip to content
August 25, 2010 / alunatunes

Statistics


Figures often beguile me, particularly when I have the arranging of them myself; in which case the remark attributed to Disraeli would often apply with justice and force:  “There are three kinds of lies:  lies, damned lies, and statistics.”  ~Mark Twain, autobiography, 1904

As I’ve navigated the freelance path, I’ve invented all sorts of ways to sell what I believe is my most valuable asset, my  innate and true talent; writing.  I am quite aware I am not an authority when it comes to writing.  I only attempt to express myself and my thoughts and hopefully provide inspiration and understanding to those who read. I do this from a place of passion as my gasping purse can attest to.

It may be a mistake to think I can make art equal income.  Each day I visit my selling sites  and am met by the statistics. No you did not sell anything today. Or yesterday. Or the day before or even this month. I stare daily at totals that equal O. Sometimes I stare at the totals more than once or twice and that’s when things get dangerous. The triple treat of  Depression, disillusionment and disappointment, sneaks into my office. “Hey Buddy.” it whispers quietly, “Why do you keep pouring effort into this. Don’t you see the statistics? ”

The honest truth is,  I cannot stop writing. Each morning as the wonderful Seth Godin advised, I ship my art. I click the publish button. And whether anyone reads or buys or cares, I feel as if I have done my part, no matter what the statistics say.

I read once that poverty of the purse is most keenly felt in the soul. And the soul of an artist must be nurtured and part of that nurturing is in the support of sales.  I’ve pondered the phrase starving artist too many trifling times of late.

Today I’m developing a new attitude about zeros. Zeros actually are nice. They’re round circles. If you stack one on top of the other, you create an 8, the symbol of everlastingness, of infinity, of the absence of time.

The statistics may taunt me and tease me with their triple zeros.  Graphs may prove no one actually cares or comments or creates commerce. But I will not be thwarted in my shipping, in my creating, in my dreaming and in my doing.

Leave a Reply

