Skip to content
August 29, 2010 / alunatunes

A Simple Old Southern Bread Recipe


It’s been a challenging week here at Chez Moonstruck. My new management job requires a lot of brain work and energy. Funny how exhausting and time consuming thinking and planning can be. But the sweet experience of working in a new realm is also exciting and fun.

My work schedule meant several days of garden neglect so Saturday  afternoon, I started the process of clearing old growth. The aphids pretty much destroyed the whole plot of veggies and my garden guy at Southern States said the best thing to do was dig up the remaining plants, take them off site and start again next spring. 

I still have a few tomato plants producing and two nice patches of butter beans. I’ll also plant turnips, beets, kale and mustard greens for the fall and just hope the aphids won’t view them as a new restaurant.

Sighing, I started cleaning my potato beds. Nothing much had happened there despite purchasing proper seed potatoes this spring, mulching and mounding as garden books instructed.

Or so I thought.

As I was raking over the mounded soil, I spotted a potato. Then another. Then another. You would have thought I had struck oil. I stacked the potatoes to the side of the trench and by the time I finished, I had two pounds of lovelies from the ground.

Last night’s dinner was green beans and baby potatoes and homemade mac and cheese with a nice pork loin for BF. I also made muffin bread. This recipe appears in nearly every cookbook I have, some dating back to 1962, but the bread is called different things: 1-2-3 Muffins, Friendship Bread and Mayonnaise Muffins to name a few.

Here’s how it’s done and it could not be easier.

One cup self-rising flour. If you don’t have self-rising flour, use a cup of regular and add 1 1/4 tsp baking powder and 1/4 tsp salt

One half cup of milk

3 tablespoons of mayo

Mix until well blended. Scoop into prepared muffin tin. I spray mine with canola oil. Bake at 450 degrees for 12 minutes. Prepare to be amazed.

Next time I make these yummies, I’m adding a bit of cheddar cheese.

I was lucky to find potatoes in the garden. I’d been feeling so blue, I believe God put them there just to cheer me up. And finding a great easy bread recipe to go along with super fresh goodness was a bonus.

Life is full of bonuses. Sometimes we just have to dig a little.

Share

Leave a Reply

