Skip to content
September 6, 2010 / alunatunes

All things great and small


 

The problem is never how to get new, innovative thoughts into your mind,but how to get old ones out. Every mind is a building filled with archaic furniture. Clean out a corner of your mind and creativity will instantly fill it. – Dee Hock 

I envy the musicians I work with. As a former singer and guitarist, there are times I simply would like to pick up an instrument, curl up in a corner with a notebook and write a song. I have accepted my life is not longer stage driven but it still is a performance none the less. And I miss creativity more than I can say. 

So it was with utter surprise and enchantment that this weekend, I started making fairy furniture. When other girls were playing Barbie, I was playing guitar. When teenagers were swooning and preening and primping, I was writing music and playing with bands. Furniture on a small scale, dollhouse size, seems an unlikely foray for a proper music business lady. I only recall one doll from my childhood and that was a Chatty Cathy. Pull her string and she yammers on and on. Chatty Cathy was a publicist. 

But here it is. God intervened and allowed me to clear some brain clutter so I could actually create. So far I’ve made two twig fairy chairs, fruit boxes complete with fruit, and two paper mache pumpkins. 

Today’s projects include finishing another chair and a table and making a set of canisters. 

None of this has required a trip to Michael’s. I’m taking a cue from nature and using only what my yard provides. 

Hibiscus seeds are the nuts in my basket. Spent crepe myrtle blossoms are red-green apples and nandina berries are the tart granny smiths. The canister set is gleaned from dried curls of pampus grass. 

And the utter ecstasy of the flow! The release of so many worries and troubles, even for a while, has been like an infusion of new blood. 

God knew what I needed. He knew I needed an outlet, a rediscovery of my artist’s spirit and he even provided all the tools in my own backyard. 

When I go back to work tomorrow, I’ll approach things with a cleaner and more productive mental attitude. I discarded the furniture of my mind and discovered a creative outlet I didn’t know existed. 

This Labor Day, I encourage you to clear your own corners and uncover hidden talents. It’s a sweet and mystical experience. Magic. Is. Real. 

  

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. SimplyForties / Sep 6 2010 10:51 am

    Oh my goodness, Chatty Cathy! I haven’t heard that name in many a year! It’s amazing what makes a good creative outlet and how good it makes us feel to have one. The little chairs are adorable!

    • alunatunes / Sep 6 2010 1:18 pm

      I loved Chatty Cathy. Much more than Barbie. So I grew up to be Chatty Cathy- not Barbie. Good thing too. (LOL)

Leave a Reply

