Skip to content
September 27, 2010 / alunatunes

Unexpected Gifts


“God gave you a gift of 86,400 seconds today. Have you used one to say “thank you”?- William Arthur Ward

Last week, quite unexpectedly, I received a card from my new friend and fellow author, Michele. I was surprised, delighted actually, because in the midst of a most arduous and decidedly unpleasant week of work and life, a little gift arrived.

The card she sent was funny and I laughed out loud when I read it. On the inside Michele, knowing my recent trials, simply wrote keep on keepin on. And inside the card was a $5 Starbucks gift card. For me, Starbucks is not an everyday thing. It is a rare and wonderful treat. So Thank You Michele, for sending a card out of the blue, for no reason at all, other than to offer much-needed encouragement.

My second gift arrived from my former boss who turned out to be one of my best gal pals ever.  I adore this woman. She is grace, refinement, and savvy business lady all in one. She was sending a birthday gift my way.  There is nothing finer than receiving a birthday gift a couple of months after the actual date. I LOVE unbirthdays.

Inside a padded envelope was an exquisite glass piece on a corded necklace. It is beyond lovely. She enclosed a card from the artist, telling about him, his work and philosophy about creating. What a treasure. Thank you Betty for your vigilance in finding my current address and re-sending this birthday gift my way. I truly appreciate your presence in my life.

Gifts are not always things. As a matter of fact, the most powerful gifts are of spirit, fondness, encouragement and engagement.  Gifts are smiles, nods, understanding, listening, respect, warmth, grace, and laughter. Gifts are so easy to give. 

Use your 86,400 seconds today to give. Make today just like a holiday. Make someone happy. Make someone smile. Create warmth and love and compassion in your words and deeds.

Share

Leave a Reply

