Skip to content
October 18, 2010 / alunatunes

Permission to come aboard


“During my time we had two chairman of the joint chiefs of staff, at different times of course, on the bridge, both of whom asked my permission to sit on the captain’s chair.” – Patrick Stewart/ Captain Picard of the USS Starship Enterprise

“Permission to come aboard, Captain?” the question was asked each time a crew member left the Enterprise and returned. It is an honor to be granted permission to come aboard. Metaphorically, a ship is likened to a woman and when one asks permission to board it’s as if she throws her arms wide and welcomes a crew member home.

In this age of social media, we do the same thing each time we friend request a person. Each time we follow on twitter or reach out on the plethora of other ways to communicate online, we essentially say, “Come aboard. Learn about me, my work, my family and my interests. If you’re in a band you can give fans permission to watch video and listen to performances, without them being physically present at a show.

I can count among my friends a puppeteer and artist who travels around France with her musician husband and a writer in Rochester NY who is so spiritually enlightened she’s enlightened me. I have friends I will most likely never meet who view my art, listen to my bands, and  write funny notes and make me laugh and cry through their sweet association.

I had to overcome fear in order to say hello. I had to get past the wondering if someone was a stalker or decidedly an un-friend. But mostly what I’ve found as I’ve asked people to come aboard is a great array of brilliant personalities scattered all over the globe.

Use the usual precautions. It’s unlikely someone in Africa passed away and left you  lottery winnings. Unlikely you too could make $75K a month working from home.

What is likely is that, by giving others permission to come aboard,  you’ll meet an amazing person. And they’ll introduce you to others who will introduce you to others. It’s a big wide world with such interesting people. Give someone permission to come aboard today.

Share

Leave a Reply

