Skip to content
March 2, 2016 / alunatunes

Florida musician Adrienne Z discuses how The Secret inspired her new song Chameleons


Adrienne Zolondick by Marissa

*Adrienne’s song Blue Day is featured in the Lifetime Movie The Wrong Car
 
The song “Chameleons” from the new Adrienne Z CD of the same name, is based on the book and movie The SecretThe Secret is a best-selling 2006 self-help book by Rhonda Byrne. It is based on the metaphysical concept of law of attraction. The book has sold more than 19 million copies worldwide and has been translated into 46 languages.
Adrienne discusses how she was inspired by the message of The Secret.
Adrienne, The Secret talks about positive thinking and the ability our thoughts have on what manifests in our lives. Do you consider yourself a positive thinker?
I am definitely a positive thinker and have always thought that there is good in every situation. I strive to find a solution rather than get negative about struggles! Lol. Not to say that I don’t have my days of being hard on myself, which is for me, my greatest challenge. All in all, I move around in my life and notice the beauty in most everything, and I just love to see love, and tend to smile a lot. 🙂
What attracted you to The Secret? Were you seeking advice? Information? Did an event lead you to seek this movie out?A dear friend and one of my past band mates from a duo we had called Aye, Marsia Shuron Harris (AKA Mother Turtle) gave me the book around the same time I was working on a track with a songwriting partner of mine from Boston, Doug Vargas. I had just visited my family in Ma. and we got together and he had a track of music. She handed me the book and while on the plane home I started to read it, listened to the track and Chameleons was born.
Can you tell us how The Secret influenced the writing of Chameleons

I was at a point in my life where I needed to make a drastic change. I was unhappy in a relationship and was feeling the need to move on. The book came at a time when I was ready to make this change. There is so much happening in the world that is butting against the health of the planet and with the economic collapse of 2008 life became very hard for a lot of people. The Secret came to me at a very good time. I was inspired to rise above the darkness I was feeling in my life and the whole concept of our thoughts creating our reality made so much sense to me. I wrote the lyrics in the third person, but it’s really about me “shining in a dark sky”. I am the child “walking for the first time, open eyed to all she sees”.

The Secret reminded me that I am in the drivers seat, creating my reality. I learned from the book that it is what I think in my mind that becomes my reality and to focus on what I want in my life is the key. With this idea it reminded my of a Chameleon which changes colors and I metaphorically used it as we have the ability to bring into our life whatever it is we want, if we focus on it.

Leave a Reply

