Skip to content
June 29, 2010 / alunatunes

Lindsey Buckingham


The 12 years I was in Fleetwood Mac before were not particularly happy years. I was not in a very good place, psychologically, when I left. I didn’t have a lot of confidence in what I was doing. – Lindsey Buckingham

In 1973 I bought the album, yes, the VINYL RECORD of Buckingham Nicks. This was before Fleetwood Mac scooped up the duo and created a music machine around them. I was 15 and had never heard a voice like Stevie Nicks’. It was quite similar to my own fledging vocalizations and I was mesmerized.

Lindsey Buckingham. Never was a fan. Thought he was a bit pretentious and certainly less than genuine. I’ve since understood that many performers suffer from a deep shyness and use pretension as a protective barrier. Even understanding that, I never liked the guy.

I recently caught a Fleetwood Mac performance on Palladia from 2004 and listened and sort of watched as I was cleaning the house.  That when my opinion about Lindsey softened.

 At one point he’s ripping through a lead and he kneels in front of the crowd, allowing them access to his instrument, his presence, his sweat and there is a moment when a male fan is looking directly at Lindsey and Lindsey is looking at him and they smile at each other.

I got cold chills and tears welled in my eyes. It was a divine moment between a performer and a fan.

We should go for those divine moments whether we’re writing a newspaper article, feeding a baby or performing in front of 10 or 10,000. Chances to make a cosmic connection are the universe’s way of saying, “Here is a gift. Pass it on.”

Approach life as a performance, a chance to allow your heart to walk around outside your body for a bit.  There is beauty everywhere. Love abounds. Gifts are meant to give. Give yours freely, unaffectedly and abundantly.

Leave a comment